Skip to content

The magic of Taquile, where time seems suspended

July 10, 2018

Awesome Little Girl in Taquile, Photo by Simon

When I stepped on Taquile Island, I felt as if time had stopped. No, it was even more than that. It was as if time was suspended and this contributed to the magic of the island.

The walk leading to the town is beautiful and my eyes wandered along the deep blue of  Titicaca Lake,  the awesome island scenery, the children in their colored costumes strolling with their sheep and the colorful laundry leaned on the houses roofs or the grass.

Taquile Terraces, Photo by Simon

Everywhere, men knitting hats with beautiful and complicated patterns and lots of colors, a way to distinguish single from married men. Taquileños are well-known for their fine hand-woven textiles, among the most awesome handicrafts in Peru. There a lots of wonderful textiles to buy and it’s additionally a good way to support the community. As it happens in many other places in Peru, Taquileños wear their traditional costumes. A mix of peasant clothing, adopted from the Spanish, and  Andean-style garments: colorful ponchos, belts, mantles and other accessories.

I still remember the magic of this little island and have one regret. I should have stayed longer, a couple of nights, sleeping in the local guest houses to discover more of this incredible people, some of which maybe never left the island.

Bookmark and Share

____________

You might also like:

My Top 5 Adventure Trips

Guatemala: guerrilla & corruption but so lovely

The intense look of a Peruvian Child

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2010 11:21 pm

    Wow – I wish I was on that island with you. I love the first photo. She’s so innocent and curious.

    • waitinginthedark permalink*
      February 9, 2010 11:33 pm

      Well… why not planning a trip 2 Peru? I’d love to go back and stay longer to the most beautiful places! That would be real fun! Who knows… maybe one day…
      A big hug!

  2. February 9, 2010 11:44 pm

    Looks like a fantastic place to visit. The picture of the girl is lovely.
    Will put a link to your site on my main blog.
    Happy Travels.

    • waitinginthedark permalink*
      February 10, 2010 8:52 am

      Thanks for stopping by and you comment, Robert. Taquile is really a wonderful and uncommon place to visit. As for the girl… I fell in love with the eyes of Perivuan kids. So expressive and deep!
      It’s very kind from you to link my blog to yours. I’ll be glad to reciprocate.
      Cheers from Italy!

  3. February 10, 2010 10:19 pm

    Stunning photos!!! I was at Lake Titicaca a year ago. I LOVED it, but was too sick to really enjoy it. I will definitely 1 day return and hopefully I won’t be so sick then.

    • waitinginthedark permalink*
      February 11, 2010 7:45 am

      What a pity being sick in such a lively place! But that’s something that happens quite often because of the altitude. I was lucky enough to feel always very well so I could fully enjoy every single day of this wonderful country.

Leave a comment